Advisors from the College of Science and Technology earned four Temple University Undergraduate Academic Advisor Awards, nearly sweeping the individual categories for 2021.

"I am very proud of the work CST Advising does to support our students," says Tom Price, director of academic advising. "Our entire team does a tremendous job of empowering students to take ownership of their decisions, choices and goals relating to academic and professional aspirations. This formal recognition from the university is an honor and wonderful accolade."

CST’s winners are:

Academic Advising Administrator Award
Erin Spiotta, Computer & Information Sciences, Mathematics and Physics Team

Faculty Advisor Award
Professor Joel Sheffield, Department of Biology

Outstanding New Advisor Award
Jessica McLaughlin, Computer & Information Sciences, Mathematics and Physics Team

Outstanding Professional Advisor Award
Keith Schweiger, First Year Advising Team

Administered by the Office of Undergraduate Studies, the awards were established in 2005 to recognize Temple undergraduate academic advisors and advising administrators. Every year one professional advisor, advising administrator, faculty advisor and new advisor is honored for their demonstrated excellence advising undergraduate students.

There were two additional awards presented this year. The Michele O'Connor Service Award honors a member of the Temple community who provides extraordinary support to advancing and significantly impacting advising mission and goals. This year’s winner is Ruth Ost, retiring senior director of the Honors Program. 

The 2021 Outstanding Program Award was presented to the Advisor Development Program.