Mathematics Update Spring 2019


This past academic year we were happy to welcome seven new full-time faculty members: Mihaela Ignatova and Atilla Yilamz as tenure-track faculty and Max Avener, Zach Bailey, Dan Rusu, Paco Villarroya and Kai Zhao as non-tenure-track faculty. They have already made significant contributions to research, teaching and service, including an Association for Women in Mathematics Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis. 

Other exciting developments include a new book by Professor Martin Lorenz; the opening of the Center for Computational Mathematics and Modeling under the direction of Benjamin Seibold; and new research, conference and outreach grants. 

In December, the department felt the loss of Professor Emeritus David Zitarelli (BS ’63. MS ’65, Math). His most recent book was published posthumously in early 2019. In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the department for nearly 50 years, we have established a scholarship fund in his honor. 

Meanwhile, long-time contributors to department’s teaching mission, Prakash Rushi and Elena Vishik, happily moved into retirement. 

This spring, it was also rewarding to see our exceptional graduating class of students being recognized with awards and offers, including admission to outstanding graduate programs in mathematics and other fields, and academic and industrial jobs. 

We continue to appreciate all the contributions of our students, faculty, staff and alumni in making our department successful. 

Irina Mitrea
Chair and Professor

Read the newsletter. 

May 22, 2019