The College of Science and Technology held it inaugural Three-minute Thesis Competition on March 24, where students explained their research in language geared toward a non-specialist audience. Founded by the University of Queensland, the competition is held at universities around the world.

The virtual CST event was hosted by Michael Zdilla, Department of Chemistry, and winners were chosen by a panel of judges and the audience. A recording of the competition is available here.  The winners are

First Place
Melissa Betters, Biology
Investigating Deep-Sea Snail Species at Chemosynthetic Environments

Second Place
Louise Borthwick, Geosciences
What Lies Beneath: Using Geophysics on Thwaites Glacier

People's Choice Award
Jay Paudel, Physics
Magnetism from non-magnetic material's interface for future generation electronic devices

The first place and people's choice winners will go on to compete in the universitywide Three Minute Thesis Competition on April 14 at 3:00 p.m. Registration here.